The cards that almost were…

So awhile back, Paper Crafts and Scrapbooking Magazine (RIP) had a call to collaborate with a friend, a re-mix, to create cards that went together in some way. My super talented crafty friend Kristie Larsen and I collaborated and we were fortunate to have TWO cards selected for joint publication! We were SOOOO excited! It was always fun to get an acceptance email, but even better was to get one with a friend! Gosh, it seems like so long ago. The cards below were selected to be published, along with Kristie’s cards.hawkins_jill_hello_We discussed what we should do and brainstormed aplenty. But I think in the end, Kristie made her two amazing cards and I then I did my takes off her cards. I’m not sure I had ever really focused on doing that before, so it was great fun! hawkins_jill_hello_01You’ll have to hop over to see Kristie’s buddy card to mine. πŸ™‚ Sure, we live thousands (approximately 9,363, depending on the wind) of miles apart, but crafting unites! It was just plain fun to collaborate…Especially in different time zones. Kristie would email me when she was going to bed and I’d email her back when I woke up. Ha! She is awesome & very funny…I was really looking forward to being page buddies again, like we were with Gallery Idol πŸ™‚

Oh, not to dwell…! Let’s look at the second shall we!?

hawkins_jill_freaking great_This is the second card that “almost was” for this PC&S re-mix call.

hawkins_jill_freaking great_01This card here looks so much better next to Kristie’s spotlight card. Seriously. Her card is amazing! Kristie made her’s first and I did the masculine take off her feminine loveliness that you can find here on her blog–YOU MUST go see it! It’s one of those that stick with you. Just love so many things about it! πŸ™‚ She makes me want to stamp flowers! πŸ˜‰

Many miles apart, but crafting in our hearts. πŸ˜‰ We card makers enjoy other card makers. It’s so much a part of what makes this hobby/craft/art fun, πŸ™‚

Hope you’ve enjoyed our two shares. Don’t forget to visit Kristie’s blog here (a must). She’s wickedly skilled with this craft–in a variety of ways! πŸ™‚ But she’s also someone I’m glad to be in touch with and call a friend. Big, heartfelt thanks again to Kristie for participating with me in this call many months ago. And further thanks for doing this joint post to share today. πŸ™‚

Thanks friends…

Jill πŸ™‚

I’m in including everything I wrote up below, because, hey, I wrote it, might as well share it. I also shows you how fabulous the PC&S crew tidied up instructions and supplies so well. These are still a little rough around the edges, if you will πŸ™‚

Hello Card:

Supplies: Card stock: (Solar White) Neenah, (Navy) Paper Source. Copics. Dies: (Straight Talk “Hello”) Technique Tuesday & (Speech Bubble Border) Lawn Fawn. (Distress Spritzer) Ranger, (Corner Chomper) We R Memory Keepers, white thread, Stencil (Mini Elevator Gate) Crafter’s Workshop, foam tape

Finished size: 4 1/4″ x 5 1/2″

Instructions: 1. Temporarily adhere stencil to card base & spritz with markers. 2. Round corner. 3. Die cut word and speech bubble. 4. Adhere die cuts to card stock pieces and stitch. 5. Adhere all to card base using foam tape.

You’re Freaking Great:

Supplies: Card stock: (White) 100# Michael’s, (Distress Watercolor Paper) Ranger, Stamps: (Geo Basics, Slang Gang) Paper Smooches, Ink: Hero Arts dyes, Distress Inks (Ranger), Tool: (Corner Chomper) We R Memory Keepers, white thread, (Silver) Mister Huey’s Color Mist, (foam tape) Scotch

Finished size: 4.25″ x 5.5 ”

Instructions: 1. Trim watercolor panel & round corner. 2. Mask and stamp sentiments; stamp triangles on both panel and card base in black. 3. Stamp solid triangles on card base. 4. Water down panel & stamp solid triangle w/ distress inks. 5. Fold down corner & stitch. 6. Spray mist on both panel and card base. 7. Adhere panel to card base with foam tape.

 

 

6 thoughts on “The cards that almost were…

  1. Oh my goodness you even have supply lists! You’re post is super awesome and i giggled as I read it, as I always do when i read things from you. LOVE your humour AND your crafting!! Thanks again for being my crafty friend! You make life fun πŸ˜‰
    xoxo
    k

  2. Miriam Prantner says:

    I love these! Bummed that they didn’t get to be in print, you guys did a great job playing off of one another!

  3. I absolutely love those triangles… they look amazing with the colour off set like that and the spotlight technique rocks!! πŸ™‚
    Thanks for joining in the challenge at PS Sparks this week :0)
    Jenny x

Leave a Reply

