The Day Marcie Threw It Down…

It’s awesome to have crafty friends, as they understand and speak the same crafty language. My one such friend, Marcie Sharp, has been collaborating with a bunch of peeps for some fun blogging. πŸ™‚ Marcie had this great idea to challenge each other out of our comfort zones. Which, let me tell you, I was ALL about. Because, let’s face it, we like our grooves, right?!Β  πŸ™‚ Marcie totally called me out to do a feminine, elegant, layered card. You want me to do WHAT now?! Haaaaaa!! I did say this would be fun! πŸ˜‰

Lots to say, but here’s my card:

hawkins_jill_birthday wishes_wmSo naturally, my first thought was flowers. It was the layers/feminine I knew I’d struggle with. I didn’t realize until I finished, but I rebelled when it came to the colors. They are not necessarily feminine, per say. But I guess it was my unconscious trade-off to making this challenge my own. I still laugh seeing it now. πŸ™‚

hawkins_jill_birthday wishes_00_wmI definitely pictured something way more *pretty* in my mind, but this is what came out. I do think it is: A) lovely overall B) a fun color combo C) definitely not something I would normally make D) falls slightly short of my overall “elegant” goal. But I definitely went out of my zone and tried, which is what it was all about, I do believe. πŸ™‚

AND let me say, the card base is stamped with MFT’s All Over Roses BG stamp. The first thing I grabbed, was the Grid BG Stamp, because I wanted to ground it graphically. But thinking in our challenge terms, I grabbed the Roses. So, that’s something! πŸ™‚

Be sure to head over HERE and find out what Marcie whipped up. My Challenge to her: WATERCOLOR!! I know it is going to rock, as Marcie really covers a gamut of card making styles, often. So it was hard to Challenge her! I think Marcie probably hustled me, because I’m certain she’s a closet watercolor master, but has claimed the opposite. πŸ™‚

My card is made with the following supplies at My Favorite Things: Die-namics: Wonky Stitched Rectangle STAX, Build-able BloomsΒ  Stamps: Build-able Blooms, Birthday Wishes & Balloons, Roses All Over BG. Card stock.

Instagram? jilldhawkins

HUGE HUGE Thanks to Marcie for inviting me along, the challenge, and for laughing with me (in fear! haaaa!)! πŸ™‚ It was a fun challenge and a lesson about my style! πŸ™‚
Have a great weekend!
Jill πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “The Day Marcie Threw It Down…

  1. Ok Jill. YOU hustled ME. This is totally gorgeous! I laughed out loud reading your post and I knew you’d come up with something great. πŸ™‚ I hope it was fun; always neat to try new things, right? Thanks for cardmaking with me.

Leave a Reply

